Volkswagen Atlas Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This morning my 2019 SE VTECH let me know the tire pressure was low on the right front tire. Understandable, there was a temperature drop last night, no biggie....

For the life of me, I cannot find anywhere in the Multi-function Display/VIC, or Infotainment, what the actual pressure is, just that they are low.

Am I missing something, or do you have to check the pressure manually?

Thanks!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
111 Posts
This morning my 2019 SE VTECH let me know the tire pressure was low on the right front tire. Understandable, there was a temperature drop last night, no biggie....

For the life of me, I cannot find anywhere in the Multi-function Display/VIC, or Infotainment, what the actual pressure is, just that they are low.

Am I missing something, or do you have to check the pressure manually?

Thanks!
It is a sensor only and does not give the tire pressure. I wish VW went to the next step by actually displaying the pressure.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
621 Posts
It's an indirect system so yes, at first you will need to set all 4 tires to the desired pressure (35psi) then go into the infotainment unit (under the car menu) and find the tire menu and set it. It will tell you if you have a low tire but not which one or what the pressure is. It works through the various systems (namely ABS) to determine if one wheel is rotating slightly slower than the rest due to the slightly smaller diameter you get when it's underinflated.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Thank you all for the quick replies. It's like, thanks VW for telling me which tire it is... and showing a nice graphic on the infotainment... but yeah.. I'd like to know what the PSI w/o getting out of the car LMAO. SMH. (We have a 2011 Jeep G. Cherokee Overland Summit and it shows us the PSI on the EVIC =D)

So far, love the 2019 Atlas, except the sluggish acceleration, and cheapish interior. But man it is roomy!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
33 Posts
Thank you all for the quick replies. It's like, thanks VW for telling me which tire it is... and showing a nice graphic on the infotainment... but yeah.. I'd like to know what the PSI w/o getting out of the car LMAO. SMH. (We have a 2011 Jeep G. Cherokee Overland Summit and it shows us the PSI on the EVIC =D)

So far, love the 2019 Atlas, except the sluggish acceleration, and cheapish interior. But man it is roomy!
Our 2008 Touareg also has live monitoring of all four tire pressures...which is very educational during up hill pulls where you can see the rear pressure climb as the axel pulls our 7,500 lb travel trailer. I wish the Atlas had live monitoring too...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
20 Posts
Honestly, I prefer this system over the actual TPMS sensor. It's PITA when you're swapping out wheels etc and have to buy another set of TPMS or swap them over. I can love with finding out which tire is low just got the ease of being able to swap wheels
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
I can't believe the Atlas doesn't give a psi reading for each tire. Even our Jeep Compass does that. The last five vehicles we've owned did it. It's becoming an industry standard. With all the other bells and whistles on the Atlas, this should be a no-brainer.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
621 Posts
I can't believe the Atlas doesn't give a psi reading for each tire. Even our Jeep Compass does that. The last five vehicles we've owned did it. It's becoming an industry standard. With all the other bells and whistles on the Atlas, this should be a no-brainer.
It has no way of doing it - the sensors aren't direct read like many vehicles. Has it's advantages too. A digital tire pressure gauges is $10 on Amazon.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
7 Posts
It has no way of doing it - the sensors aren't direct read like many vehicles. Has it's advantages too. A digital tire pressure gauges is $10 on Amazon.
No replacement for real time monitoring. "Has no way of doing it" just means they don't want the extra expense, which is well worth it.
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
109 Posts
Can anyone tell me why my tpms light comes on after I’ve set the tire pressure and then reset the infortainment center? I reset it about a month ago and like clock work the light is one again. It’s been warm so I know it isn’t the cold and the tires themselves checked out.

I also agree with the rest of the posters. The individual sensors with actual psi display is much more beneficial.
 

·
Super Moderator
Joined
·
621 Posts
No replacement for real time monitoring. "Has no way of doing it" just means they don't want the extra expense, which is well worth it.
There are advantages to this system as well....no issues when you change tires/wheels, no TPMS that fail, etc. The downside for those that seem to need real-time pressure readings is...well...you need to check your tires once in a while. Not sure what's going on above - haven't had them come on but again, I check my tires a few times a mos. Interesting, I've never relied on a car to tell me what the tire pressure is...but I get it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1 Posts
This morning my 2019 SE VTECH let me know the tire pressure was low on the right front tire. Understandable, there was a temperature drop last night, no biggie....

For the life of me, I cannot find anywhere in the Multi-function Display/VIC, or Infotainment, what the actual pressure is, just that they are low.

Am I missing something, or do you have to check the pressure manually?

Thanks!
Just had this issue, so I’m relieved to see this post. I can’t believe my R line can’t just show a number for tire pressure while it’s showing me a fancy picture of my vehicle on a computer screen smh. My little Buick that they barely assigned any trade-in value to definitely told me my PSI for thousands of dollars less! Shouldn’t have to get out on the highway to check tire pressure in 2020. Ok, I think I’m done venting now.
 
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
Top