Volkswagen Atlas Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Good afternoon all,
I just picked up a 2022 Termaline Blue Atlas for my wife two weeks ago. I drive a 2017 GTI and we are both VW fans. I have been reading some of your members posts and am getting mixed reviews on towing and towing capacity. I am not a towing expert but I was under the impression a 5k towing limit would also include all passengers and cargo inside the car plus the trailer and its cargo correct? Not to exceed 5k combined? I have seen the debate with weight distributing hitches and non / air bags or stock rear suspension. Owners manual states not to use a WDH. I also feel some of the members may be pushing their limit or far over with some of the comments I have read. I live in the mid west but we do have relatives out west. The wife and I have been looking at KZ branded travel trailers for a family of 5. 3 Little ones all under 10 and the two of us. The KZ Escape 191BHK (Dry 3,470), the 201BH (Dry 3,610) and two of the cheaper lighter KZ Sportsman Classic's 181BH and 191BH. The 181BH Sportsman Classic is 2,980 dry and the 191BH is 3,420. I am still up in the air for a truck as my next vehicle but till then we are trying to figure out of this could be done safely with the Atlas. On Paper if we kept the packing light per trailer and dry tanks it looks like it could be done maybe? Looking for some advice go for it or forget it and go buy a used Diesel Toureg as a third and primary tow vehicle with 7,700 lbs towing. Appreciate any advice thanks in advance !

Respectfully,
PointmanUSMC

·
Registered
64 Posts
Welcome to the family!

We own a 2019 V6 AWD Atlas, a 2007 3.6 Touareg (same engine as Atlas), and a 2008 Touareg V8 FSI. We have not towed with our Atlas BUT I can make a few comments as we have towed extensively at the Touareg’s absolute max ratings and with the same 3.6 VR6 as the Atlas for part of the time.