Volkswagen Atlas Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
My 2021 v6 atlas manual says to use regular octane fuel. Is there any real benefit to using high octabe? Is it still better to use high octane vs regular or is it just a waste? Thanks

·
Registered
172 Posts
Welcome to the forum Yeshia :)

You'll get tons of different opinions on this, you can use the sites user friendly ' Search ' feature for more details(y)

In my opinion stay with the recommenced fuel type during the warranty period. ;)

·
Super Moderator
13 Posts
Per my understanding of octane ratings and I'm not an expert however I have been around for a while.

If the Atlas is rated for 87 there is no benefit to moving to 93 or higher. Higher octane is used to combat predetonation which is more so related to higher compression motors or turbo cars which have high cylinder pressure due to the turbo. 93 octane will burn mostly the same in the Atlas that is rated for 87 and you will see no benefits to your daily driving.

From Google
Octane rating is a measure of a fuel's ability to resist 'knock. ' The octane requirement of an engine varies with compression ratio, geometrical and mechanical considerations, and operating conditions. The higher the octane number, the greater the fuel's resistance to knocking or pinging during combustion.

·
Super Moderator
596 Posts
Been discussed ad-nauseum online here/FB groups/vortex - I will say this and not sure where I put it (could be here if you search) - I posted some timing logs with both 87 and 93 in my Atlas (3.6 VR6). You get less timing correction using premium from my data which will yield some additional power but this will be at the higher-rpm range that most don't use and the extra cost will just not be worth it for 95% of drivers. Perfectly safe using 87 in the Atlas - it's what I use.

·
Super Moderator
596 Posts